BC NDP congratulates Premier David Eby and thanks outgoing premier John Horgan

The BC NDP is thrilled to congratulate David Eby on his swearing-in today as British Columbia’s 37th Premier.

“David Eby has dedicated his life to finding solutions that make government work better for everyday people. He works tirelessly, and he delivers results,” said Aaron Sumexheltza, President of the BC NDP. “Now more than ever, New Democrats and British Columbians need a premier like David Eby who’s in their corner, fighting for them. We’re excited for him to get to work.”

The party also extends its immense gratitude to outgoing premier John Horgan. “In his time as leader of the BC NDP, John Horgan led our party to two electoral triumphs, including our largest-ever majority government,” said Aaron Sumexheltza, President of the BC NDP. “From passing the Declaration Act to moving forward on affordable childcare and creating North America’s strongest climate plan, he and his team passed more than 200 pieces of legislation to make life better for all British Columbians. We will miss his leadership and his vision, but his rest is well-earned.”

David Eby succeeded John Horgan as leader of the BC NDP on October 21, 2022. He was sworn in as Premier of British Columbia today at the Musqueam Community Centre.